ETIAS. How to apply? Requirements and costs

What is the ETIAS travel permit? Who should apply for it?

ETIAS – European Travel Information and Authorisation System

What is the ETIAS permit?

The ETIAS, for its acronym, is the Travel Information and Authorization System. The European Commission created a travel authorization system for visitors from countries that are currently not part of the EU and are currently exempt from visas to speed up entry to the Schengen Area.

The ETIAS will only pre-screen travelers not needing a Schengen Visa. The screening would pertain to terrorism or migration-related risks. The objective is to identify individuals who pose security threats before they can travel to the Schengen area.

This permit will be necessary to enter the countries belonging to the Schengen area. All foreign travelers who are currently exempt from a visa must process and present the ETIAS.


Who should process the ETIAS permit?

Starting January 01, 2023, travelers that currently do not need a visa to visit EU member countries will require an ETIAS.

Citizens from Canada, the United States, United Kingdom, New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Mexico, United Arab Emirates, and many nationalities must fill up before arrival.

It will be mandatory for all those who are planning to travel to Europe for tourism or business.


What countries will request it?

All countries belonging to the Schengen area will require the ETIAS permit from residents of the obligated third countries.

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Slovak Republic, Sweden, and Switzerland.


Do I need to apply a separate ETIAS for each country I visit?

No, you only need one ETIAS permit to visit all Schengen countries.


How much will ETIAS cost?

ETIAS will cost €7 and it will be free of charge for those persons under 18 or over 70.


How will the ETIAS travel permit be processed?

The ETIAS permit will be processed online. Payment must be made by a valid debit or credit card.

To process it, it will be necessary to have a valid passport.


How long is the ETIAS valid for?

It will be valid for 3 years from the time of issuance or the date of passport expiry.


How to apply?

In the ETIAS application form, you must complete your data and passport information. You must select the country through which you plan to enter the Schengen area. Additionally, you will need to answer some background questions related to public health, criminal history, and whether you have been denied entry to Europe in the past.


How is the application process?

Upon submission, each application will be checked across SIS / VIS / EUROPOL DATA / SLTD (Interpol) / EURODAC / ECRIS etc), the ETIAS screening rules as well as the ETIAS watchlist. If the application is matched to information from any of these databases, the application will undergo manual processing by the ETIAS Central and/or ETIAS National Units.

Usually, 95% of applications will receive a decision within minutes of submission.


Can I work or study with an ETIAS permit?

No, the ETIAS permit is only valid for transit, tourism, and business travel purpose.

Leave a Comment